I resolve to become the most boring person alive for the next 2 weeks

Seriously.  Don’t you feel like that when people tell you their resolutions?  Of course, as I write this, I am also drinking weight loss fennel tea but that’s just scientific curiosity and has absolutely nothing to do with the time of year.

It seems the bulk of resolutions are dreary: lose weight, exercise more, save money type things.  Really, if January weren’t bad enough (-25F right now, I actually got a brain freeze in the grocery store parking lot) we have to promise to do a lot of things that we don’t want to do and then bore everyone with it?  Last year, I wrote about making resolutions that I could actually keep.  This year, I had a different idea.

I do like the idea of the fresh start of New Years.  Every New Year, I go to Office Max and buy a big accordion file for this year’s receipts, paystubs, tax documents, and insurance papers.  I get one in a pretty color and get some new file folders, pens, and post it notes to match.  By the end of the year, it doesn’t even close, but I can usually find the document I’m looking for pretty quickly, and in my chaotic life, that’s huge.  I also like to spend some time thinking about the past year and how the next one can be better.  Resolving to do anything on a daily basis is tough.  I eat every day, and brush my teeth, and pretty much every other activity might possibly be skipped.  Weekly lists might be better.  My list looks something like this:

Finish something

Do something new with my family like these fun people

Write something (which I am fulfilling now)

Give something

Sew something (because I like to sew)

Learn something: this week it was sundogs and light pillars and why we see them when it’s really cold.  Also Hong Kong binding.

DSC_0536

These ideas seem like a more manageable, fun way to bring more pleasure to life at home. I’ll let you know how it went in 2 weeks.

About womanmdsguide

My name is Dr. Kristen Cain and I'm an infertility doctor with a passion for women's wellness and having the time to live life to its fullest. I write about women's health issues and time management secrets for young professional women because a good life means having the health and time to enjoy it!
This entry was posted in time management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

